Search - John Prine :: Great Days: Anthology

Great Days: Anthology
John Prine
Great Days: Anthology
Genres: Country, Folk, Pop, Rock
  •  Track Listings (21) - Disc #1
  •  Track Listings (20) - Disc #2

From \Hello in There" and ""Sam Stone"" to ""Angel from Montgomery"


Larger Image

CD Details

All Artists: John Prine
Title: Great Days: Anthology
Members Wishing: 28
Total Copies: 0
Label: Atlantic / Wea
Original Release Date: 8/17/1993
Release Date: 8/17/1993
Genres: Country, Folk, Pop, Rock
Styles: Traditional Folk, Contemporary Folk, Singer-Songwriters
Number of Discs: 2
SwapaCD Credits: 2
UPC: 081227140021


Product Description
From \Hello in There" and ""Sam Stone"" to ""Angel from Montgomery"

Similarly Requested CDs


Member CD Reviews

Michelle S. (Chelly10s) from W HOLLYWOOD, CA
Reviewed on 4/27/2010...
This CD is everything thrilling, meaningful, and hilarious in life bottled and leaked into your ears.
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.
Daniel T. (djtal)
Reviewed on 11/27/2008...
Disc 1:
1. Illegal Smile
2. Spanish Pipedream
3. Hello in There
4. Sam Stone
5. Paradise
6. Donald and Lydia
7. The Late John Garfield Blues
8. Yes I Guess They Oughta Name a Drink After You
9. the Great Compromise
10. Sweet Revenge
11. Please Don't Bury Me
12. Christmas in Prison
13. Dear Abby
14. Blue Umbrella
15. Common Sense
16. Come Back to Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard
17. Saddle in the Rain
18. He Was in Heaven Before He Died
19. Fish and Whistle
20. That's the Way That the World Goes 'Round
21. Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow)
Disc 2:
1. Sabu Visits the Twin Cities Alone
2. Automobile
3. Killing the Blues
4. Down by the Side of the Road
5. Living in the Future
6. It's Happening to You
7. Storm Windows
8. One Red Rose
9. Souvenirs (with Steve Goodman)
10. Aimless Love
11. The Oldest Baby in the World
12. People Puttin' People Down
13. Unwed Fathers
14. Angel from Montgomery (with Bonnie Raitt)
15. Linda Goes to Mars
16. Bad Boy
17. Speed of the Sound of Loneliness
18. It's a Big Old Goofy World
19. The Sins of Memphisto
20. All the Best
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

CD Reviews

Great music, BUT DON'T BUY THIS
Gordon C. Duus | Glen Ridge, NJ USA | 08/18/2000
(5 out of 5 stars)

"I love John Prine. I love nearly every song on this compilation. But I would NOT recommend that anyone buy this. Why? Because while this album selects out many of the wonderful songs on John Prine's first 10 studio albums, it leaves out almost as many great songs from those same albums, including "Your Flag Decal Won't Get You into Heaven", "Diamond in the Rough", "Mexican Home", "Often Is A Word I Seldom Use", "Accident (Things Could Have Been Worse)", "Way Down", "Hobo Song", "Chinatown", "Ubangi Stomp", "Bottomless Lake", "Let's Talk Dirty in Hawaiian", and "Jesus the Missing Years". An album with just those songs might be my favorite John Prine album. My point: buy the original studio albums--they're so strong throughout that it's pointless to try and pick the best songs. Any attempt to do so is highly subjective. If you like John Prine you'll see that virtually every one of his songs has something to recommend it."
Blow Up Your TV And Buy This Record
Steve Vrana | Aurora, NE | 07/18/2000
(5 out of 5 stars)

"I wasn't introduced to the music of John Prine until 1978, but I became an instant fan upon hearing his self-titled debut. I can't think of another more fully developed debut and at six tracks it is (of the 14 albums on this anthology) the one most represented. [Too bad they didn't also include "Your Flag Decal Won't Get You Into Heaven Anymore," the funniest song about patriotism you'll ever hear.]But don't mistake Prine's humor as an attempt to merely go for a laugh; it usually is there to help mask pain or anger or to make his message more palatable. Mark Twain made this observation in "The Mysterious Stranger": "For your race, in its poverty, has unquestionably one really effective weapon--laughter. Against the assault of laughter nothing can stand." Prine uses this weapon effectively. Whether he's urging us to blow up our TVs in "Spanish Pipedream" or looking at the lighter side of death in "Please Don't Bury Me," his songs are full of charm and wit. And then there's the serious side of Prine's songwriting like the pathos of "Hello In There" and its look at aging, or the plight of the Viet Nam war vet in "Sam Stone."Many of these songs, like "Paradise" and "Angel From Montgomery," have become standards. Quite simply, Prine is one of the best songwriters of the past thirty years (he wrote or co-wrote all but one of these songs) and for longtime fans even this generous 41-track collection will be incomplete. It's a great introduction, but I'll bet you'll want to buy the individual albums after giving this a few listens. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED"