Newest CD/Album Reviews

Violettes
Violettes
Violettes
Label: Violettes
Release Date: 6/1/2004
Review by: Bridgett M. (SingingInMySleep). - 4/19/2024 4:19 PM


"I'm including the track listings here since SwapaCD's information for this CD does not. Track Listings: 1. Blue Hearted Fool 2. Jugamuga 3. Heavenly White Roses 4. Full Spectrum 5. A Thousand Times No 6. Awkward Moment 7. 1-2-3 Go! 8. In Sh'Allah 9. The Deep Blue Sea 10. Pretty Flowers 11. Sunday 12. Melodium"

Location Is Everything 1
Various Artists
Location Is Everything 1
Label: Jade Tree
Original Release Date: 1/1/2002
Re-Release Date: 4/16/2002
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 4/16/2024 1:22 PM


"Tracklisting: 1.New End Original - Lukewarm 04:18 2.Girls Against Boys - Kicking The Lights 03:40 3.Denali - Gunner 03:28 4.Trial by Fire - To Whom it May Redeem 01:27 5.Cub Country - High Uinta High 04:54 6.Milemarker - Shrink To Fit 04:15 7.Miighty Flashlight - Ballet Skool 03:37 8.Strike Anywhere - S.S.T. 02:31 9.Owls - I want the quiet moments of a party girl 03:15 10.The Explosion - God Bless the S.O.S. 01:37 11.Zero Zero - Back To Hell 02:50 12.Jets to Brazil - Milk & Apples 02:56 13.Euphone - My Ladies Can't Remember the '80â²s 02:35 14.The Promise Ring - Emergency! Emergency! 02:56 15.Onelinedrawing - Smile 03:23 16.Pedro the Lion - Rapture 03:26 17.Girls Against Boys - Super Slow 05:14 18.Milemarker - New Lexicon (Unreleased) 02:42 19.Pedro The Lion - Backwoods Nation (Unreleased) 03:44 20.Jets to Brazil - I've Got All The Words (Unreleased) 03:45 21.Paint it Black - Another Beautiful "Fuck You" Song! (Unreleased) 01:21 22.Mighty Flashlight - Thickened Light (Unreleased) 02:46 23.The Promise Ring - Easy (Unreleased) 03:13"

Cheek to Cheek: Dance Music from the Twenties and Thirties
Duke Ellington, Fred Astaire, Louis Armstrong, George Gershwin, and others
Cheek to Cheek: Dance Music from the Twenties and Thirties
Original Release Date: 2/3/2005
Release Date: 2/3/2005
Review by: Victor E.. - 4/12/2024 3:03 PM


"This is a wonderful CD. The "vintage" sound contributes to the romantic mood, and it's all at an easy foxtrot tempo: it's what would play in ballroom scenes in old movies."

Cours Lapin
Cours Lapin
Cours Lapin
Release Date: 8/17/2010
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 4/12/2024 2:34 PM


"A highly interesting record -- with "a certain [David] Lynchian aesthetic..." "Cours Lapin', .... saunters with an alternative edge, bouncing between straight-forward lounge grooves and surf riffs, relocating ...hypnotic dance moves from a rural American diner to a cask-wooden ocean stained bar. 'Le Son d'un Escargot' (Snail Son) leaves the bass and guitar to guide what could, hypothetically, be Alenius' petite character into a forest of uncertainty and fear, with only the harmonic voices of the wind as her comfort before a crash of percussive noise shatters the phantasm into a million pieces...." Lyrics in French."

Space
Jonathan Maki
Space
Label: Jonathan Maki
Release Date: 9/3/2002
Review by: Bridgett M. (SingingInMySleep). - 4/11/2024 4:57 PM


"I'm including the track listings here since SwapaCD's information for this CD does not. Track Listings: 1. Regrets 2. Mouth 3. Throw 4. If 5. Pretty 6. Prescription 7. Laundrysky 8. Addiction"

Flair for the Dramatic
Pierce the Veil
Flair for the Dramatic
Label: Equal Vision Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Re-Release Date: 6/26/2007
Review by: Dani N.. - 4/10/2024 7:48 PM


"I definitely found this band wayyy later than the other reviews on here, but this album is my absolute favorite out of all their albums. All the songs are packed full of intense and melodic bass chords, guitar solos and riffs, and a hypnotizing drum that all amplify the lead vocalist Vic Fuentes even further than his own voice, which is pretty wide ranged for someone who sings in a typically higher octave than your average guy. The album the way I interpreted it is over a series of misfortunes and intense romantic encounters with one or more lovers (likely just one over the course of the album really, but the narrator and the supposed lover's relationship is crazy and wild, using the topics and emotions that come with falling in love, depression, self harm, suicide, fame, money, substance use, and such) and how the fame of one or both people causes them to go over how much their relationship really worth when it comes to the cost of the well being of one or both people. and while the topics are on its own serious, the song writing (which is not very rhyme based per stanza but rather in a story telling format that occasionally rhymes words, but rather rhymes the topics and consequences of actions or thoughts together as the song goes on more often, which I think is really cool). I may be wrong about one thing but I'm pretty sure the CD has a bonus track(s) addition where you can digitally download the album and listen to a couple of their demos/bonus tracks My favorite songs are The Cheap Bouquet, Currents Convulsive, Chemical Kids and Mechanical Brides, Diamonds and Why Men Buy Them, and of course Wonderless. This band and this album in particular is astounding and I cannot stress enough how incredibly impactful and emotive the album is to me and hopefully to others who listen to the CD!"

Folk Scat
Folk Scat
Folk Scat
Label: Nomad
Release Date: 8/27/1999
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 4/7/2024 10:32 PM


"Very well performed vocal mastery. melodic,somber,playful the full gamut. Some terrific world North African mixes as well. very nice indeed"

A Tribute to Dottie Rambo
Vern Jackson
A Tribute to Dottie Rambo
Review by: Donna G.. - 4/7/2024 7:30 AM


"This CD is a great tribute to Dottie Rambo. Vern Jackson's clear, smooth voice does an excellent rendition of some of Dottie's most loved songs. I love this CD and I'm glad to have been able to add it to my library!"

Feeling Strangely Fine
Semisonic
Feeling Strangely Fine
Label: Mca UK
Original Release Date: 3/24/1998
Release Date: 3/24/1998
Review by: Bridgett M. (SingingInMySleep). - 4/3/2024 4:24 PM


"This is one of my all-time favorite CDs and my favorite by Semisonic, though Great Divide (their first album) is a close second. It hurts my heart a little to see there are currently 20 copies available here, but you're in luck if you don't already have it. I like Feeling Strangely Fine so much that I adopted "Singing In My Sleep," its second song, for my SwapaCD nickname. Now that's devotion! I think most of us CD swappers will identify with and appreciate that song. Almost everyone knows "Closing Time," but this album should also be remembered for "Singing in My Sleep," "Secret Smile," consistently excellent songwriting and Dan Wilson's voice. Some of the songs may be slow burners, give them your time. For me, "Closing Time" has suffered a bit due to being overplayed on the radio and elsewhere, but I enjoy it more knowing its second meaning related to birth. If you like Semisonic, I also highly recommend their drummer Jacob Slichter's book So You Wanna Be a Rock & Roll Star, which is about the band. At the time of this review, the book is available at PaperBackSwap."

Unchained
Johnny Cash, Tom Petty & Heartbreakers
Unchained
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Release Date: 6/2/1998
Review by: Nathan C.. - 3/29/2024 5:50 AM


"Nice album in the series from Cash; covers from late in his career. Recommend!"

This Is What Happened
Crouch, Estrada, Garrop, Volti
This Is What Happened
Label: Innova Records
Release Date: 1/20/2017
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 3/26/2024 11:52 PM


"Volti is a professional vocal ensemble based in San Francisco, California. Founded by Robert Geary in 1979 as the San Francisco Chamber Singers, Volti's mission is to foster and showcase contemporary American music and composers. Featured on "This is What Happened": "Canticles of Rumi", settings of five poems by the 13th-century poet and founder of Sufism, composed by resident composer Mark Winges "...is knowing...", a musical analogy to Gertrude Stein's linguistic Cubism, by Seattle-based composer John Muehleisen "Paradise", by Shawn Crouch, was originally commissioned by Chanticleer in 2009 and then substantially revised for Volti in 2013. Volti is the first ensemble to win the ASCAP/Chorus America Award for Adventurous Programming of Contemporary Music."

Emmanuel
Garrett Viggers
Emmanuel
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 3/26/2024 11:35 PM


"From 2007, Garrett Viggers' "Emmaneul features tasteful, traditional Christmas carols arranged for Hammered Dulcimer and Lap Dulcimer. 1. Angels We have Heard on High (HD, LD) 2. Joy to the World (HD) 3. The Little Drummer Boy (HD) 4. Away in a Manger (HD) 5. The First Noel (HD) 6. Silent Night (HD) 7. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (HD) 8. What Child is This? (Vox, HD, LD) 9. We Three Kings (Vox, LD) 10. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (Vox, HD, LD) HD: Hammered Dulcimer LD: Lap Dulcimer Vox: Vocals"

DJ's Choice Proud to Be American
Various Artists
DJ's Choice Proud to Be American
Label: Turn Up the Music
Release Date: 10/9/2001
Review by: David P.. - 3/26/2024 10:34 AM


"If you read the lyrics Born In The USA does not belong on this album. It's about being ashamed of the USA rather than being proud of it. Bruce deceptively took advantage of his fans with this song and the album cover which are exactly the opposite of what they appear to be. It's fine for him to have his opinion but don't trick people and don't drape yourself in the American flag if you are ashamed of it."

Halfway Around the World
Camdens
Halfway Around the World
Label: Midwest Artists Dist.
Release Date: 6/1/2001
Review by: Bridgett M. (SingingInMySleep). - 3/20/2024 7:38 PM


"I'm including the track listings here since SwapaCD's information for this CD does not. Track Listings: 1. Invitation 2. Stage 3. Sleepless 4. When Did I Learn 5. Halfway Around The World 6. Red Hair 7. Tell Me 8. Here 9. Third Degree 10. Stay 11. Fall 12. Lipstick"

Songs of Love & Despair
Boyd Meets Girl
Songs of Love & Despair
Label: Sono Luminus
Original Release Date: 3/25/2022
Release Date: 3/25/2022
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 3/19/2024 10:28 PM


"The artists, in fact, are Australian classical guitarist Rupert Boyd and American cellist Laura Metcalf. known collectively as "Boyd Meets Girl". The album is fresh, lively, technically and artistically tight, classically-trained-competent and rather wonderful. From others: "Acclaimed soloists in their own right, as a duo they perform an eclectic and engaging range of repertoire, from the baroque through modern day, including many of their own arrangements. Boyd has been described as truly evocative by The Washington Post, and as a player who deserves to be heard by Classical Guitar Magazine. Metcalf, also a member of the ensembles Sybarite5 and Break of Reality, has been called brilliant by Gramophone. Rupert Boyd writes: "This is an album of love. But also of despair. And some things in between. Largely conceived, arranged, rehearsed and recorded during the Covid-19 pandemic, Songs of Love & Despair contains the music that we were drawn to during this time - a time of unprecedented stillness and solitude, traveling at most a few miles from our home for months on end. As a married couple we were fortunate to be able to play music together every day, and this collection of repertoire is half love, half longing; from the delicate beauty of Debussy and the joyousness of Boccherini, to the anguish of Messiaen and heartbreaking Appalachian folk songs, which tell the stories of love, life and loss. The album is a testament to this time, and we welcome you to join us as we traverse the emotions that have enveloped us all.""

Aluminum Overcast
Chas Smith
Aluminum Overcast
Label: Cold Blue Label
Release Date: 10/30/2001
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 3/18/2024 1:31 PM


""Chas Smith builds metallic sculptures that are amplified and struck or bowed. The copper box, the bass tweed, the Guitarzilla, and the Dado are back, accompanied by the newcomers Mantis and Majestic, the latter a huge structure of 38 by ten feet. But impressive gear doesn't make impressive music: it's all in the ear. Smith hears beautiful overtones in his creations and he communicates them wonderfully. His soundscapes are engaging, shifting slowly and gaining ever more richness." Aluminum Overcast Review by Francois Couture"

Captain Yonder, Captain Yonder
Captain Yonder, Captain Yonder
Review by: Bridgett M. (SingingInMySleep). - 3/18/2024 9:10 AM


"I'm including the track listings here since SwapaCD's information for this CD does not. Track Listings: 1. From the Leaves 2. Hey Away Ho 3. Look, the Oaks! 4. Crazy on the Hill 5. Soon I Will Sail 6. The Green Plains 7. White Day 8. The Barge Song"

A Mad and Faithful Telling
DeVotchKa
A Mad and Faithful Telling
Label: Anti
Original Release Date: 1/1/2008
Re-Release Date: 3/18/2008
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 3/17/2024 12:19 PM


"A little about this much-Wish-listed record: "[DeVotchKa's] brand of indie rock draws primarily from Eastern European, Slavic, and Mariachi music. Album opener 'Basso Profundo' charges like a bull at the gates, if the bull were playing tuba and singing ghostly chants of 'Ooh's; The energy is relentless in this track, and the tension that is created as soon as everything slows down and builds up again is utterly magnificent." "Some of the album's highest points lie in its two instrumentals, 'Strizzalo' and 'Comrade Z.'; These are works strictly in the vein of traditional Slavic music, with hardly anything indie or rock about them.'Comrade Z'; in particular, showcases the band's skills as musicians and songwriters, composing and executing a brilliant and complex melody on strings and brass, with a tuba keeping the tempo up by bouncing along brightly. Another stunning point where the album's instrumental passages take over is during a break in 'Undone', where dark, slithering strings strike out with great fervor...." Courtesy of Denver based DeVotchKa, best known for scoring Little Miss Sunshine, releases a compact album of Slavic influences, danceable beats, and rock roots On Anti-Records, home of Tom Waits and Nick Cave. Samples at Bandcamp."

Ellen's I'm Gonna Make You Dance Jams
Various Artists
Ellen's I'm Gonna Make You Dance Jams
Label: Watertower Music
Release Date: 11/11/2013
Review by: Russell B. (Slim). - 2/28/2024 2:32 PM


"I wanted to keep MJ Dancing Machine but this version isn't what I remember."

Baroque for Dummies
Baroque for Dummies
Baroque for Dummies
Label: Angel Records
Release Date: 4/1/1997
Review by: Brian K. (Deposit). - 2/18/2024 8:13 PM


"Track list with composers: 1) Pachelbel: Canon and gigue, for 3 violins & continuo in D major, T. 337: Canon in D major 2) Bach: Cantata No. 147, 'Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben,' BWV 147 (BC A174): Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring 3) Handel: Water Music Suite No.1 for orchestra in F major, HWV 348: Air 4) Gluck: Dance of the Blessed Spirits (Melody), arrangement (from 'Orfeo ed Euridice') 5) Mouret: Rondeau, for brass, strings & timpani (from Suite of Symphonies No. 1; 'Masterpiece Theater' Theme) 6) Vivaldi: Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in E major ('La Primavera,' The Four Seasons; 'Il cimento' No. 1), Op.8/1, RV 269: Fi 7) Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks, for orchestra, HWV 351: La R'jouissance 8) Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048: Allegro 9) Handel: Water Music Suite No.2 for orchestra in D major, HWV 349: Alla hornpipe 10) Albinoni (arr. Giazotto) Adagio, for violin, strings & organ in G minor, T. Mi 26 11) Coreilli: Concerto Grosso in G minor ('Christmas Concerto'), Op. 6/8: Pastorale 12) Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068: Air 13) Purceil: Abdelazer, or, the Moor's Revenge, incidental music, Z. 570: Rondeau 14) Handel: Solomon, oratorio, HWV 67: Arrival of the Queen of Sheba 15) Boccherini (arr. Woodhouse): Minuet in A major, arrangement (after String Quintet in E major, Op.11/5 [aka Op. 13/5], G. 275) This is a great introduction to those who do not know classical music and want to hear what was enjoyed 300 years ago. Included on this CD are the most popular Baroque music currently popular in the 1990s."

Poison - Flesh & Blood
Poison
Poison - Flesh & Blood
Label: BMG Direct
Review by: Jay N. (AtTheGates). - 2/11/2024 5:12 PM


"Great album. I love all the band photos inside the booklet. My favorite song is "Ride the Wind"."

Wild Wild West
Escape Club
Wild Wild West
Label: Atlantic / Wea
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Mike W.. - 2/5/2024 2:04 PM


"I see numerous reviews for the Escape Club - Wild Wild West. Of course, "Wild Wild West" is the real standout song here that received mucho Radio / MTV play back in the day. However there are a couple of other really strong Escape Club songs on this album that I didn't see mentioned. "Shake For The Sheik" "Working For The Fatman""

The Joshua Tree [MFSL Audiophile Original Master Recording]
U2
The Joshua Tree [MFSL Audiophile Original Master Recording]
Label: Mobile Fidelity
Release Date: 11/12/1996
Review by: Brendon M. (brendonla). - 2/2/2024 2:57 PM


"Not sure what the CD description means about liner notes by Bill Flannigan as my MFSL issue of this album didn't include that -- but frankly, that's beside the point. This is the holy grail for U2 fans of "The Joshua Tree" as Mobile Fidelity Sound Labs remasters strive to recreate the recording at such fidelity that you feel like you're in the studio with the band -- and that is definitely the case here: I own the 2007 remaster (for the 20th Anniversary box set) and one other pressing (an old school BMG Music Club issue). This is the best sounding version I own: I can hear Edge's guitar more clearly, up front, in the mix. Deep bass and organ sounds ominous and then hopeful on "Where the Streets Have No Name" -- and throughout this entire re-issue the clarity is astounding due to the mastering and storing the ones and zeros with a 24K gold layer in the physical CD. Note that if you can find a copy, it won't be cheap as these MFSL re-issues were limited quantities to begin with -- I paid $50 USD for mine used, but it had a few cracks near the spindle. Given how rare this release is I bought it any way and applied foil stickers on both sides of the spindle area and it still sounds great in my home CD transport. All that said, I'm not sure I'd spend upwards of $600 USD new for this (go check eBay if you don't believe me) -- for that amount of cash I'd recommend getting the 2007 remaster - it's not this, but it sounds damn good."

The Hamilton Mixtape (Explicit)
Original Broadway Cast of Hamilton
The Hamilton Mixtape (Explicit)
Label: Atlantic
Release Date: 12/2/2016
Review by: Sandra M.. - 1/24/2024 7:11 PM


"Love this Cd! If you enjoyed the musical, you will remember it from all the songs! If you have never experienced it, you will be able to follow the story thru the songs! Either way, it's a masterpiece!"

Musica Alhambra
Juan Martin
Musica Alhambra
Label: Flamenco Vision
Release Date: 11/10/1998
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 1/22/2024 7:48 PM


"Juan Martin's Arabe-Andaluz ensemble presents "Musica Alhambra", described on the cover as "An exploration into Moorish, Indian, gypsy and Flamenco musical styles, five Sephardic songs and culminating in contemporary Flamenco". This is an unusal recording that showcases the traditional Moorish, Arabic, Indian Hindu and Sephardic sounds that have influenced and formed the traditional music of Southern Spain. Musicians: Juan Martin - Flamenco Guitar Abdul Salam Kheir - Oud and vocals Chris Karan - Tabla Rony Barrak - Darabuka Stephen Dummer - Clarinet, Soprano saxophone Tracklisting: 1 La Pasion del Lamento/The Passion Of The Lament 2 Yamma Bada Ytathena/When She Starts To Sway (Pre-14th Century Andalusi) 3 La Feria/The Fair 4 5 Sephardic Songs: La Rosa Enflorece/The Rose Flowers In May; Ven Querida, Ven Amada/ Come My Dear, My Loved One 5 Adio Querida/Goodbye My Dear One 6 Ya Viene El Cativo/Here Comes The Prison Ship 7 Yo me enamore de un Aire/I Fell In Love With Her Spirit 8 Zouroni/Visit Me Once A Year, Not To Would Be Unsacred 9 El Bint al Shalabiya/The Beautiful Young Women 10 Evocation (From Damascus To Cordoba) 11 Taranta Hijaz/Improvisation Between Cultural Cousins 12 La Frontera/The Frontier of Al Andalus"