Search - :: The History Of The Dave Clark Five

The History Of The Dave Clark Five
The History Of The Dave Clark Five
Genres: International Music, Pop, Rock, Classic Rock
Available in very limited quantities!!! This is the only legal Dave Clark 5 title available. 2 CD best of with 50 tracks!


Larger Image

CD Details

All Artists:
Title: The History Of The Dave Clark Five
Members Wishing: 24
Total Copies: 0
Genres: International Music, Pop, Rock, Classic Rock
Styles: Europe, Britain & Ireland, British Invasion
Number of Discs: 2
SwapaCD Credits: 2
Other Editions: The History of the Dave Clark Five
UPCs: 720616148223, 720616148247, 766481595328


Album Description
Available in very limited quantities!!! This is the only legal Dave Clark 5 title available. 2 CD best of with 50 tracks!

Similar CDs

Similarly Requested CDs


Member CD Reviews

Thomas D. (RockerBoomer) from SOUTHAMPTON, NY
Reviewed on 6/25/2009...
Rare, out of print double CD that captures all of the DC5's best songs.
This is the definitive collection.
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

CD Reviews

Dave Clark Five stars
thisisgibbie | Indianapolis | 02/16/2006
(5 out of 5 stars)

"Glad All Over is a good title to start off this collection.

One thing that DC5 were very good at was entertainment. A very tight group in the 60s that were at the fore of the British Invasion. While often mixed in with Merseybeat groups, they actually hailed from north London.

It is too bad that this collection is no longer being made. The collection is one of the best of groups from this era.

The earliest songs are the strongest from high octane "Glad All Over," "Any Way You Want It" and "Catch Us If You Can" to excellent soft melodies like "Because" and "Whenever Your Around." Lesser known "Do You Still Love Me" and Don't Be Taken In" present Mike Smith's superlative vocals and Dave Clark's clever drumming.

The latter songs are a drop off from the earlier collection, but then again, the music scene changed drastically between 1966 and 1967 and so ended the period with what they called "Acid music" back then. DC5 were probably smart to move on, which is what Dave Clark mentions in the liner notes. Although, it is forgotten that their hits rivalled all the others, including the Beatles, they toured in their own plane and Clark turned the music into a lucrative business, still a problem for pop musicians, despite what you see in the pop press.

If you want THE collection for DC5, this is it. It includes an extensive liner note booklet."
History of the Dave Clark Five - OUT OF PRINT DOUBLE CD w/50
(5 out of 5 stars)


The Dave Clark 5 were a British Invasion phenomenon and probably the loudest British Invasion act until the arrival of the Who. The Dave Clark 5's first major hit was 1964's 'Glad All Over' the first of 24 records in Billboard's Top 100 and 17 Top 40 hit records between 1964 and 1967. The Dave Clark 5 was the second British Invasion act to appear on the Ed Sullivan Show - the Beatle's were the first act to do so. Their 18 appearances on the Ed Sullivan Show eclipsed both the Beatle's and the Rolling Stones.

The Dave Clark 5 band members were:

*Dave Clark - vocals, drums, percussion

*Mike Smith - vocals, piano, organ

*Lenny Davidson - vocals, acoustic & electric guitars

*Denis Payton - vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, tenor & baritone saxophones

*Rick Huxley - vocals, acoustic guitar, bass

The Dave Clark Five's most popular Billboard Top 100 Hits were:

*Glad All Over - Jan. 1964

*Bits And Pieces - Feb.1964

*Do You Love Me - April 1964

*Can't You See That She's Mine - June 1964

*Because - July 1964

*Everybody Knows - Sept. 1964

*Any Way You Want It - Nov. 1964

*Come Home - Jan. 1965

*I Like It Like That - June 1965

*Catch Us If You Can - July 1965

*Over And Over - Oct. 1965

*Everybody Knows - Dec. 1967



1. Glad All Over

2. Bits And Pieces

3. Do You Love Me

4. Can't You See That She's Mine

5. Because

6. Don't Let Me Down

7. Any Way You Want It

8. Everybody Knows (I Still Love You)

9. Any Time You Want Love

10. Thinking Of You Baby

11. Whenever You're Around

12. Little Bitty Pretty One

13. Crying Over You

14. Don't Be Taken In

15. When

16. Reelin' And Rockin'

17. Come Home

18. Mighty Good Loving

19. Hurting Inside

20. Having A Wild Weekend

21. Til The Right One Comes Along

22. Catch Us If You Can

23. I'll Be Yours My Love

24. I Am On My Own

25. I Need Love


1. Try Too Hard

2. All Night Long

3. Look Before You Leap

4. Please Tell Me Why

5. Somebody Find A New Love

6. Satisfied With You

7. At The Scene

8. I Miss You

9. Do You Still Love Me

10. Nineteen Days

11. I've Got To Have A Reason

12. I Like It Like That

13. Over And Over

14. You Got What It Takes

15. Doctor Rhythm

16. Small Talk

17. Concentration Baby

18. Everybody Knows

19. Inside And Out

20. At The Place

21. Best Day's Work

22. Maze Of Love

23. Here Comes Summer

24. Live In The Sky

25. Everybody Get Together